2016 KMWP Awards Banquet

On August 25, the Kennesaw Mountain Writing Project (KMWP) hosted our annual awards banquet. We honored the work of teachers and leaders in our community who promote literacy and leadership, and we celebrated the young authors and recipients of our Leslie Walker Writers of Promise awards.

KMWP presents three awards to individuals who contribute to literacy development in northwest Georgia. Any KMWP affiliate may nominate fellow teachers, administrators, central office personnel, or community members for these awards.

The Teacher of Promise award is presented to a new teacher who shows exceptional ability and commitment who is in his or her first three years of teaching.

The Teacher Leadership award is presented to a KMWP teacher affiliate who is a leader and encourages leadership in colleagues.

The Sponsor of Literacy award is presented to an individual who has demonstrated continuous efforts to improve literacy, teacher leadership, and the educational climate in today’s schools.

Our award-winning educators for 2016 are:
Teacher of Promise – Glenn Chance of Lanier High School in Gwinnett County
Teacher Leadership – Falicia O’Mard of Baggett Elementary School in Gwinnett County
Sponsor of Literacy – Tommy Jolly of East Paulding High School in Paulding County


Michelle Goodsite presents the Teacher of Promise award to Glenn Chance


Rob Montgomery presents the Teacher Leadership award to Falicia O’Mard.


Sonny Harding (left) presents the Sponsor of Literacy award to Tommy Jolly (right).

In 2008, KMWP created a writing contest as a legacy of a friend and teacher leader. Leslie Walker was an educator at Campbell High School, a 1998 KMWP ISI fellow, and an inspiration to her students and colleagues. In the words of Scott Smoot, creator and past director of the contest, “Researching with KMWP, Leslie developed a special insight that writing is about establishing community. She would say that you write best with the support of a caring community of writers, you write best about the community you know, and you learn from your community when you write. Most miraculously, you draw others into new community through your imagination and language.”

The 2016 Leslie Walker Writers of Promise winners are:

Cassidy Ginn of Thomas Crossroads Elementary School in Fayette County
Sophie Simpson of Moses Middle School in Paulding County
Bodie Fox of Armuchee High School in Floyd County

A wonderful time was had by all and we look forward to honoring and celebrating once again next year.


Elementary School winner Cassidy Ginn with her parents.


Middle School winner Sophie Simpson with her parents.


High School winner Bodie Fox with his mother.


Comments are closed.